Exceptional Child Services (ECS)



In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Spencer County Schools will make use of an Emergency Waiver for Non-Traditional Instruction (NTI) days.  School districts making use of Kentucky's NTI program must ensure that students with disabilities have equal access to the same opportunities provided to students without disabilities.  As part of its plan for Non-Traditional Instruction to its students on NTI days, Spencer County Schools assure that, to the greatest extent possible, each student will be provided the accommodations identified in the student's IEP.


Your child's special education teacher will be contacting you during the NTI days in order to provide accommodations through alternative means and to monitor student progress on assignments provided. If you have any questions, please contact your child's special education teacher or the Director of Special Education.



Welcome to the Spencer County Schools Exceptional Child Services Webpage.  This site is designed to assist community members, parents, prospective parents, educators, and students. The website provides introductory information about special education services in the Spencer County Schools and links to local, regional, and national resources.


We are a team of professionals dedicated to providing services for students needing specially designed instruction (SDI). The Spencer County School District provides services to children and youth ages 3-21 who qualify for SDI.  General educators and special educators work collaboratively with parents to provide services for our students.  Educational services are individually determined based upon a student’s educational disability and the student’s individual needs.


We have staff ready to answer any questions you may have about the education of students with special needs. You can reach someone at the Spencer County ECS Office by calling 502-477-6787 or by email at todd.russell@spencer.kyschools.us.




*Listed below are resources/ links for parents and teachers.*


Parent Resources

Acronyms and Definitions

Behavior Information

Center for Parent Information and Resources

Characteristics of ADHD Powerpoint

KDE Guidance Documents

Parent Guide for Special Education

Parent Involvement Webpage

Transfer Student Policy


Teacher Resources

NEW Progress Monitoring Excel Spreadsheet

NEW IDEA Compliance Record Review Document

Behavior Intervention Plan

IEP and Lesson Plan Development Handbook

Kentucky Autism Training Center Website

Student Observation Form

Teacher Consultation Request Form


NEW Teacher Documents

Autism Guidance Document

Child Find Notice

2019 IEP Guidance Document

2019 Section 504 Procedures (updated 2015)

2019-2020 Special Education Waiver Process

Spencer County Exceptional Child Services Procedures




ECS Office Staff

ECS Office Phone: (502)477-6787


ECS Office Fax: (502)477-6786


Preschool Office Phone: (502)477-3210


Todd Russell - Director of Special Education/ Early Childhood Education and 504 Coordinator 


Tammy Hawkins - Special Education Consultant


Sue Daniel - Preschool Assistant Coordinator


Alisa Shelburne - Special Education Administrative Assistant


Michelle McKinley - Preschool Administrative Assistant


Holly Purvis - School Psychologist (SCHS, TES, Hillview)


Kelly Schweitzer - School Psychologist (SCMS, SCES, Hillview)


Angie Rueff - Educational Diagnostician (Preschool)


Denise Shelburne - ARC Chairperson (SCHS, SCMS, Hillview)



Contact Us

Spencer County Board of Education
207 W. Main Street
Taylorsville, KY 40071

View Map & Directions
Phone: 502-477-3250
Fax: 502-477-3259